Top 10 Wimbledon Champions of All Time in the world

Wimbledon is the only grass court championship among the four grand slam tournaments in World Tennis.

William Renshaw

William Renshaw was born in Warwickshire in England. This British enormous tennis player holds the record of winning highest number of Wimbledon trophies together with Pete Sampras. He became champion in Wimbledon grand slam tournament for seven times. He won Wimbledon tournament from 1881 to 1886 for successive six times which is still a record of highest consecutive championship victory.

Pete Sampras

This US tennis legend is considered as one of the greatest tennis players of all time. He is currently the highest Grand Slam winner for men’s tennis. In his career he has won 14 Grand Slam tournaments out of which he won 7 titles in Wimbledon made him the highest number of trophy winners in this Grand Slam jointly with William Renshaw. He was no 1 tennis ranking for consecutively 6 years. He has started to play tennis at the age of 17; he took two years to win his first Grand Slam title in US Open in 1990 defeating Ivan Lendl and John McEnroe. His number of career title is 64. In his 15 year-long career, he had earned a wonderful amount of $43,280,489 as prize money.

Lawrence Doherty

Lawrence Doherty has won Wimbledon titles for 5 times in his career. He also won 7 doubles titles in this Grand Slam tournament. He is also the Gold medalist of both men’s singles and men’s doubles in 1900 Olympic Games.

Björn Borg

Björn Borg the Swedish great tennis player is best known for his performance in both French Open and Wimbledon. His six titles in French Open is still a record. He has won five titles in Wimbledon is also the best performance by him. In his career, he participated in 27 Grand Slam tournaments and out of which he won 11 Grand Slam tournaments. With his 11 grand slam titles, he became the second highest Grand Slam winner in the men’s tennis. He was involved in the International Tennis Hall of Fame in 1987.

Roger Federer

This Swiss tennis player is considered as one of the greatest tennis players. Federer reached to the number 1 in the ATP ranking in 2004 and still remains there which made him third longest world no. 1 player in the tennis history. His best performance has been seen in the Wimbledon Grand Slam tournament. He has won 8 grand slam tournaments including Australian Open twice, U.S. Open twice and Wimbledon for four times. He started playing tennis when he was just 8 years old. He entered in the international tennis in 1999 being included in the Swiss Davis Cup team. He won 40 career titles in his career. His career Prize Money is $25,146,458 until now.

Martina Navratilova

Navratilova is perhaps the greatest female tennis players of all time. She was the former world no. 1 tennis player in the women’s Singles WTA ranking. She has won 18 Grand Slam titles in her career which is second highest Grand Slam success in tennis history. In Doubles, she is also a legendary figure as she won 31 Women’s Doubles and 10 Mixed Doubles in her golden career. Navratilova is the best player in the Wimbledon history. She holds the record of highest Wimbledon winner with her 9 Wimbledon titles and 6 of which are consecutive.

Helen Wills

Helen Wills won 19 Grand Slams in her career. She was the ruler of the court in the 1920s and 1930s. She has won 8 Wimbledon championship in her career, she is the second highest Wimbledon grand slam holder after Navratilova’s 9 Wimbledon titles. She also won two gold medals in the 1924 Paris Olympic. She played for 17 year and she won 31 Grand Slams titles including singles, women’s doubles and mixed doubles. In 1959, she became a member of the International Tennis Hall of Fame.

Dorothea Katherine Douglass Lambert Chambers

This British tennis player won Wimbledon championship for 7 times which is third highest Wimbledon success. She had won gold medal in the women’s singles in 1908 Olympic Games. In 1981 Dorothea Douglass became a member of the International Tennis Hall of Fame.

Steffi Graf

Stefanie Maria Graf greatest players in the tennis history. She won 22 Grand Slam titles in her career. She is the only player in the tennis history who could won Golden Grand Slam means she won all of the four Grand Slams in a year. She has won 7 Wimbledon titles in her career. She has been the no. 1 of the ranking for many weeks. She won a gold medal in Seoul Olympic in 1988. She became a member of Tennis Hall of Fame in 2004.

Billie Jean King

Billie Jean King had won Grand Slam for 12 times. She won 14 Grand Slam women’s doubles tournaments and 11 mixed doubles tournaments in her career. Her performance in Wimbledon deserves her to be considered as a legend. She won six Single’s Grand Slam titles in Wimbledon. She was very famous for her hard hitting and speed which helped her to win over many great players of her time. She is the first tennis player in the history to be selected as the Sports Illustrated Sportsman of the Year in 1972. She is also a member of the International Tennis Hall of Fame.

1 comment:

Feedbox Advertising